Why Are So Many Medium Articles Just About Making Money on Medium?

Aaron Schnoor
2 min readMar 11, 2024
Photo by Carlos Muza on Unsplash

I’ve been a Medium member for four years now.

Over those four years, I’ve seen the platform change and evolve. I’ve seen many writers join the platform. I’ve also seen many writers leave the platform.

I’ve read articles that have inspired. I’ve read articles that should have been edited more before being published. I’ve read fiction, nonfiction, biographies, memoirs, humor, poetry. I thought I had read it all.

But I never expected to see so many articles about making money on Medium.

I know what you’re thinking. By writing an article about articles that focus on making money on Medium, aren’t I contributing to the problem?

I hope not.

I hope I can persuade you that we don’t need any more articles on making money on Medium. I hope I can persuade you that Medium should be a platform for non-meta topics that actually hold importance in our culture.

Do I want to make money?

Sure, of course I do.

Is it bad that other people want to make money on Medium too?

Of course not.

But do we really need more articles on making money on Medium? Don’t we have enough of those articles already?

--

--